top of page
Screen Shot 2022-02-03 at 11.07.27 pm.png

Ecosia

In September 2019, Anja Zimmer initiated an Ecosia campaign for the University of Basel with Uni Basel on Ecosia. Ecosia is an alternative search engine that funds tree planting through its searches. Like any other search engine, it generates its revenue from clicks on ads or certain websites. Ecosia invests most of this revenue in tree planting projects and publishes its financial reports every month. On average, 45 searches allow a tree to be planted.

Project Goal

This project aims to encourage the University of Basel to set up Ecosia as the default search engine on all university computers. Students and employees can also do this independently and install Ecosia on their devices with this link. We receive a monthly overview of the trees planted and can therefore see exactly how many trees the University of Basel is responsible for planting.

Status

More than 1000 trees have already been planted using the link specially created for the University of Basel (status June 2021). This is thanks to many individuals who have installed Ecosia on their computers. The next steps are to continue to draw attention to Ecosia, including with the Faculty of Psychology, which has started a pilot project. The search engine was installed on the faculty's computers in order to discuss in a first step whether Ecosia would be a good alternative for the university. After the successful completion of the pilot project, an application will be sent to the Rectorate with testimonials from the Faculty of Psychology, as well as the support of the IT Department, to show that the entire University of Basel can (and should!) make the switch to Ecosia. Follow us Instagram and like us  Facebook to get more updates on the project! You will find the link to download the search engine  here .

Effect

We as a society have an enormous digital footprint. Surfing, streaming, broadcasting and servers the size of small towns all produce carbon emissions similar to those of air travel. Trees absorb CO2 and are therefore a natural climate solution. Changing your search engine therefore is a small switch with a big impact.

bottom of page

Screen Shot 2022-02-03 at 11.07.27 pm.png

Ecosia

Im September 2019 initiierte Anja Zimmer mit Uni Basel on Ecosia eine Ecosia Kampagne für die Universität Basel. Ecosia ist eine alternative Suchmaschine, die durch ihre Suchanfragen das Pflanzen von Bäumen finanziert. Wie jede andere Suchmaschine generiert sie ihre Einnahmen durch Klicks auf Anzeigen oder bestimme Websiten. Den Grossteil dieser Einnahmen investiert Ecosia in Baumpflanzprojekte und veröffentlicht jeden Monat ihre Finanzberichte. Durchschnittlich ermöglichen 45 Suchanfragen das Pflanzen eines Baumes.

Ziel des Projekts

Die Universität Basel soll dazu angeregt werden, Ecosia auf allen universitären Rechnern als Standardsuchmaschine einzurichten. Studierende und Mitarbeitende können dies auch eigenständig tun und sich Ecosia mit diesem Link auf ihren Geräten installieren. Wir erhalten eine monatliche Übersicht der gepflanzten Bäume und sehen somit genau wieviel Bäume die Universität Basel pflanzt.

Status

Mit dem eigens für die Uni Basel kreierten Link konnten bereits über 1000 Bäume gepflanzt werden (Stand Januar 2022). Dies ist vielen Einzelpersonen zu verdanken, die Ecosia auf ihren Computern installiert haben. Die nächsten Schritte sind weiterhin auf Ecosia aufmerksam zu machen, dazu stehen spannende Aktionen und tolle Gespräche an, unter anderem mit der Fakultät für Psychologie, die ein Pilotprojekt gestartet haben. Dabei wurde auf den Computern der Fakultät die Suchmaschine installiert, um in einem ersten Schritt zu erörtern, ob Ecosia für die Universität eine gute Alternative wäre. Nach einem erfolgreichen Abschluss des Pilotprojekts soll mit möglichst vielen Stimmen aus der Fakultät und dem Ok der IT einen Antrag ans Rektorat gestellt werden, dass die gesamte Universität Basel den Switch zu Ecosia macht. Folge uns auch auf Instagram und like uns auf Facebook, um mehr Updates zum Projekt zu erhalten! Den Link zum Herunterladen der Suchmaschine findest du hier.

Wirkung

Wir hinterlassen mittlerweile auch digital einen enormen Fussabdruck. Surfen, streamen, senden und Server in der Grösse von Kleinstädten – all das produziert ähnliche CO2-Emissionen wie der Flugverkehr. Bäume absorbieren CO2 und stellen somit eine natürliche Klimalösung dar. Seine Suchmaschine zu ändern ist ein kleiner Switch mit grosser Wirkung.